Big K.R.I.T.

1367292517_7754c9528cf0c43276e9105e1e6b022d

I don’t EVER want to give the impression that I solely enjoy East Coast, 90’s hip hop.  I absolutely gravitate towards that, being I was an inner city youth then a teenager moving across the bridge; that was the soundtrack of my life.  Believe me, 1990 to 2000 is almost an indescribable “soundtrack” to say the least.  Anyway back on track, as this allows me the opportunity to show love to not only “new school”, but also Southern hip hop.  Case in point : Big K.R.I.T.  Although he had a body of mixtapes before, I first heard him on the mixtape “Return of  4eva”.  Now for me this was a perfect introduction, since not only were his skilled polished, but this mixtape succeeded in doing what only a handful of albums have done (to great impact).  By this I mean K.R.I.T. took me on a metaphorical stroll through his hometown.

Out of all the great tracks on this tape, the one that stands out to me is “Time Machine” as I live out the concept for this song everyday.  See, I have an Ipod that’s about 7-8 years old, which has all the music I ever owned on there (up to that point).  We’re talking well over 5k songs.  So for me my car is definitely my personal time machine.  Which I is why this song is so memorable to me as K.R.I.T. and Chamillionaire.  I knew Cham had skills and this song displays his potential to new listeners perfectly.  Speaking of perfect, driving down the highway at night or cruising around the neighborhood on a Saturday morning bumping this is everything. 

Time Machine

 

#bigkrit #chamillionaire #timemachine #returnof4eva #mississippi #south #hiphop #educateyourself #oglou #cruise #ride

Leave a Reply

