Nas – The Message/If I Ruled The World

 

nas-qb

When people ask me what’s my favorite hip hop song of all time, I say “The Message” by Nas. Every time I hear that Sting sample from “Shape of My Heart” it reminds me of the end credits from the movie “The Professional”. Tone and Poke also used the famous drum and partial bass sample from The Honey Drippers “Impeach The President”. In a DJ Premier-inspired move, they scratch up Nas’ own lines to serve as the hook/chorus. From the open bars : “Fake thug, no love you get the slug, CB4 Gusto/ you’re luck low, I didn’t know ’til I was drunk though” you knew he was rhyming on a different level (tough to do as he had already set the bar high with arguably the ‘flawless’ rookie hip hop album of all time). Now the the fact that he’s going at certain people aside, I think this is one of those cases where the beat and the lyrics create something incredible. 

Next we have “If I Ruled The World”, which I think ranks in my opinion as the ‘perfect’ hip hop song from Nas. First we have the talented Lauren Hill singing the hook from the old school Kurtis Blow song by the same name. If that wasn’t paying enough homage, Trackmasters sampled the Whodini song “Friends”.  Coupled with the fact that Nas is painting a picture with his social commentary (which still rings true today). All these factors leads to my belief on why I think it should be considered ‘, especially if I’m introducing someone to the genre of hip hop (not to be confused with rap).

The Message :

 

Shape of My Heart :

 

Impeach The President :

The Professional (Trailer) :

If I Ruled The World :

 

 

If I Ruled The World (Kurtis Blow) :

 

Friends :

 

#nas #itwaswritten #themessage #ifiruledtheworld #sting #shapeofmyheart #honeydrippers #theprofessional #kurtisblow #whodini #friends #educate #oglou #hiphop #educateyourself

Leave a Reply

